News | Washington Football Team -

Snyder Honored As 'Distinguished Leader'


McLEAN, VA – In recognition of his years of support for the Youth For Tomorrow children's home, Washington Redskins Owner Daniel M. Snyder has been presented the organization's "Distinguished Leader Award."

The honor is periodically awarded to individuals who have demonstrated long and generous support to Youth For Tomorrow.

In announcing the award, Hall of Fame Redskins coach Joe Gibbs, who is also Founder and Chairman of Youth for Tomorrow, said, "Dan Snyder began his support of the kids at Youth for Tomorrow long before I ever considered returning to coach the team in 2004."

"Dan has demonstrated his interest in our children with his generous and selfless support in several ways, and it is important to mention that he has done the same for childrens' charities all over the Washington, DC, area," Gibbs said. "Of course, he has been joined in the Redskins Charitable Foundation's amazing philanthropic efforts by Redskins minority owner Dwight Schar, who is an earlier recipient of the YFT's Distinguished Leadership Award."

Accepting the honor at Youth For Tomorrow's annual Burgundy and Gold dinner, Snyder said, "The work begun by Youth for Tomorrow almost a quarter-century ago has never strayed from it's core mission – reaching out to youth in need and setting them on a path for life. I've always been proud to be involved in that effort."

The award citation noted Snyder's strong support for the past 12 years, including providing access to Redskins games, substantial financial support, approval of establishment of the Redskins Courage House on the YFT campus to provide a home for homeless, abandoned and abused teenagers, providing rare auction items for the many YFT fundraisers and hosting a Burgundy and Gold Kick-Off Brunch for many years at Redskins Park for major donors.

Along with Schar, Snyder has personally and corporately sponsored YFT's annual Burgundy & Gold Dinner through the Redskins Charitable Foundation.

In addition to Snyder and Schar, other recent recipients of the award include Bill Hazel of William A. Hazel, Inc., Cecil Pruitt of the Pruitt Corporation, and the late George F. Kettle, formerly of Kettle Enterprises.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content